About the CCXP Certification

The CCXP program provides a means for individuals to obtain professional recognition of their high levels of knowledge of the customer experience discipline. Until the CXPA established this accreditation, there was no industry-wide, standardized avenue for CX practitioners to demonstrate their expertise and accomplishments, and no formal credentials that showcased an individual’s standing in the industry. As a non-profit, independent association, the CXPA is well positioned to establish the CCXP as a recognized and admired professional credential.


Anyone with a Post-secondary degree and three years of full-time CX-specific work experience is eligible to take the exam. An alternate pathway to eligibility is a high school diploma (or equivalent) and five years of work experience that includes three years of CX experience.

Core Competencies

The content of the CCXP Certification Exam is based on an industry-wide job task analysis that was conducted by the CXPA in 2020. As part of this process, more than 300 customer experience professionals provided feedback on the importance of job tasks covering the scope of the CX profession. The core competency areas for CX were identified through the results of this analysis, and each area is represented by 19 to 22 questions on the 100-question exam:

  1. Customer Insights and Understanding
  2. Customer Experience Strategy
  3. Metrics, Measurement, and ROI
  4. Design, Implementation, and Innovation
  5. Culture and Accountability


To prepare for the exam, Candidates are encouraged to review the body of knowledge found at CXPA.org, and, to download and review the Candidate’s Handbook found therein.

Related Links